Hi-Ho Hi-Ho off to the Everglades I Go

Hey There,

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that you were able to spend it with those who matter most. I certainly was fortunate enough to have a relaxing day at home. One of my gifts was a gift card to the grocery store and I was super excited, and then I realized I had officially entered adulthood.

Anyways now that Christmas is over, I get only a second to breath because at 5:15 am tomorrow I am catching a plane from Kansas City, MO to Fort Lauderdale, FL. From there, I will depart on a 12 day canoeing trip through the Everglades….and no I am not really an outdoorsy gal. I like my amenities and social media. I am also not going to be able to shower or shave for this time…so it’s going to be pretty gross.  This trip is definitely going to be an adventure and a life changing experience because I am going to have to learn to work through difficult tasks with a team who may not always agree and I am going to be forced to confront my own weakness and concerns. While this trip will not be easy, there will be good times and it will certainly build last relationships.

Some of you may be wondering how I even got involved with such a thing. Well, the actual canoeing trip is called Outward Bound which is based out of North Carolina, but I am part of the Pryor Program at my college. The program has a very competitive interview process, followed by a series of courses focused on developing leadership skills, and then the Outward Bound trip. I am typically one who does well in school, but when it comes to groups I am not one to be a voice so after some personal discovery and nomination by teachers I applied to the program. I was lucky enough to be chosen. I have already made leaps and bounds of progress through just the class, and I am sure that I will make even more progress on this trip.

I think some of my biggest fears for this trip are my luggage not getting to Fort Lauderdale and not having a crew that meshes well. We will not get our crews until we arrive in Ft. Lauderdale so there is still plenty of time for me to stress, but once I do find out it is just time to make the best of the situation and help everyone have the best experience they can possibly have.

So starting tomorrow I will be forced to change my typical life style and become vulnerable to work with others in my group. I will be taking lots of pictures and journaling all of my experiences so don’t worry I will have a full report of the experience when I get back January 8th.

Wish me luck and have a Happy New Year,

Aud.

 

Leave a Reply

