Morning Routine: Coffee and Lemon Lavender Scones

Hey There,

I hope all of you have had a good week! For me this week has been extremely crazy, stressful, and busy. I am now in my second semester of nursing school and I have quite a full course load as I have mentioned before. I had two tests this week and clinical so I was running on minimal amounts of sleep, but it paid off when I nearly aced both of them.

I have talked about how I am one for routine before and that I enjoy taking a break in the evening to do something for myself and that usually involves a short nap or a bit of exercise just to relax and refocus. Well, this semester getting up early and starting my day off with time to myself has been working out well.

I generally wake up at 5:15 or 5:30, roll out of bed and head to the gym once I put my contacts in. Once in the gym I generally put in 30-45 minutes of cardio/yoga and then hop in the shower. After I get ready for the day I wander up to the hill (campus) where I find my spot in the coffee shop’s corner. It’s usually 7:15 when I get up there so I have about an hour and forty-five minutes before my first class. I use this time to scroll through twitter, get ahead on an assignment or just scroll through Pinterest. I always get an iced coffee or hot tea, but rarely anything else. Well, I was feeling bold and got a lemon lavender scone and oh. my. gosh. it was absolutely fantastic!! They only had it for that day, but I hope they bring it back soon so I can get another one.

Moral of the story though, while routine can be a bad thing if you are not willing to ever break it, it can also be a good thing because when there is a lot of chaos and craziness going on in life a simple routine can be what keeps you from going absolutely insane.

Leave a Reply

