Slipping and Sliding 

Hey There,

Christmas break has officially began for me, and I could not be any happier. I will mostly be working and studying for the NCLEX,  but it will be a nice break from what I have been doing this semester. I will also be taking a trip to meet my boyfriend’s family. I should probably be really nervous, but I am actually really excited! I am excited to meet the parents of such a wonderful man, and to see where he is from. I also won’t mind the drive too much because I can just listen to music and such.

Anyways, last night it started getting pretty chilly and things started icing over, and the roads were getting pretty slick. I was glad that Matt got on the road before it got too bad. My parents were on the way to pick up my sister from college and they ended up turning around because they were in stand-still traffic and they had shut down the college town due to all of the ice. There were multiple wrecks and many semi’s were flipped. I am just glad that they were able to turn around and make it home safe.

This morning I was supposed to go to work at the hospital, but the weather had other plans. Both of my parents were scheduled to go to work, as well, but they tried and the roads were too bad. They were going to try again when I went to work and make sure I made it okay. My Dad drives an Expedition and I drive an Explorer so I thought, as long as we went slowly it would not be an issue. Well, our street was a sheet of ice. We made it around the turn out of the subdivision, and my dad made it around the turn towards the light, but I went to make it and fish tailed. I corrected, and then went to continue, but I kept fish tailing and could not get traction. My car began to slide, and I started freaking out and crying because my dad was at the light, and I thought he was going to go leaving me to figure out what to do. He happened to notice I was having a hard time and he back to down to  me. I said I am not driving 20 miles to work. My dad ended up getting in my car and taking it back. He was struggling to get it turned around and to make it up the hill back into our subdivision. We were able to skate around with our shoes on so we all decided it was not worth the risk to go to work.

So today has been a great day spent in doors making cookies, spending time together, watching tv, listening to Christmas music, and napping.

The snow is coming down and there is talk that we will get 3-5 inches. Hopefully the roads get taken care of tonight and many people do not have to go out tomorrow.

Stay warm and merry,

Aud

Leave a comment